FAA Expands Air Traffic Education Program <


Bookmark and Share


FAA Expands Air Traffic Education Program

By Bill Goldston

April 12, 2010 - The Federal Aviation Administration announced today five new colleges and universities will be part of the Air Traffic Collegiate Training Initiative (AT-CTI). This is the third year the FAA has added schools to the AT-CTI program bringing the total number of schools participating to 36. 

The FAA AT-CTI program was first established in 1990 at Minneapolis Community and Technical College. The program helps recruit candidates for terminal and en route air traffic controller positions. 

Twenty-one institutions submitted applications early last year to join AT-CTI. The applications were evaluated based on the school's organizational foundation and resources, organization credibility, air traffic basic curriculum and facilities. 

The five schools joining the program are: Sacramento City College, (Sacramento, CA), Florida Institute of Technology College of Aeronautics (Melbourne, FL), Texas State Technical College (Waco, TX), Western Michigan University (Battle Creek, MI), and Hesston College (Hesston, KS). 

CTI institutions are not given federal funds to teach air traffic control courses, however the FAA does provide curriculum and instructor notes on air traffic basics. The institutions independently incorporate the material into their aviation programs. 

The AT-CTI curriculum provides appropriate education, experience, and training which meet the basic requirements for the terminal and en route air traffic occupations. As a result, AT-CTI graduates may be permitted to bypass the initial five-week air traffic basics trainingwhen they report to the FAA Academy in Oklahoma City. 

No jobs are promised to students, but from fiscal years 2005 until 2009 over 3,000, or 41 percent, of the air traffic controllers hired graduated from an AT-CTI school. 


AT-CTI programs are currently available at these institutions: Aims Community College (Colorado), Arizona State University, Broward Community College (Florida), Community College of Baltimore County (Maryland), Community College of Beaver County (Pennsylvania), Daniel Webster College (New Hampshire), Dowling College (New York), Eastern New Mexico University, Embry Riddle-Daytona Beach (Florida), Embry Riddle-Prescott (Arizona), Florida Community College of Jacksonville, Green River Community College (Washington), Hampton University (Virginia), Inter-American University of Puerto Rico, Mount San Antonio (California), Jacksonville University (Florida), Kent State University (Ohio), LeTourneau University (Texas), Lewis University (Illinois), Metropolitan State College of Denver (Colorado), Miami Dade County College (Florida), Middle Georgia College, Middle Tennessee State University, Minneapolis Community and Technical College (Minnesota), Purdue University (Indiana), St. Cloud University (Minnesota), Tulsa Community College (Oklahoma), University of Alaska, University of North Dakota, University of Oklahoma, and Vaughn College of Aeronautics (New York).

 ?AvStop Online Magazine                                                                 Contact Us                                                  Return To News                                          Bookmark and Share


AvStop Aviation News and Resource Online Magazine

Grab this Headline Animator